Cook Islands turn 40, BSL confirms 8 teams, Fiji adds Schoolgirls competition

7th February 2020, 05:29


Cook Islands turn 40, BSL confirms 8 teams, Fiji adds Schoolgirls competition

Nations of League is a weekly snapshot of some of the stories you may have missed in the world of International Rugby League.

Balkans:  First eight clubs confirmed for 2020 Super League
Eight clubs from across Bulgaria and Serbia have confirmed their participation in the 2020 Balkan Super League.

In what will be the fourth edition of the regional tournament, Serbia has confirmed that no less than six clubs will take place, including competition newcomers, Tzar Dusan from Paracin, whilst Bulgaria will be represented by Locomotive (Sofia) and Valjacite (Pernik).

The 2020 tournament is expected to have up to 14 clubs again, with clubs expected to join from Bosnia & Herzegovina, Italy, Turkey and Montenegro again.   

The Balkan Super League is a regional representative competition designed to provide a higher level of competition to teams around the Balkan Peninsula.  Started in 2017, the tournament has featured clubs from Serbia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Turkey, Italy, Greece, Albania and Montenegro taking part over the years.

Phoenician Cup: Belmore to host Triple Header between Lebanon and Malta
The famous Belmore Oval in Sydney will host a massive triple header between the Lebanese and Maltese representative teams this June with the two nations U18’s, Men’s and Women’s teams all set to go head to head.

Scheduled for the Mid-Year Representative weekend, the match will serve as an important clash for both the Cedars and Knights as they prepare for their respective Middle East-Africa and European Championship clashes.

Whilst it will be the fifth time the two Men’s teams have met, it will be the Maltese Dames first full hit out, whilst it will be the first time the Lebanese Junipers have played since 2017.

Event is scheduled for Saturday, June 20.

Fiji: Ravoravo chasing history in Melanesian Club Championship
The Lautoka based Ravoravo Rabbitohs will be chasing history on February 29 when they aim to become the first Fijian team to win the Melanesian Club Championship.

Started in 2015, the tournament sees the top club/district representative from the Fijian and Papua New Guinea domestic competitions go head to head for regional bragging rights.

Find out more about the event here.

Fiji: Secondary Schools competitions kicks off
Four new schools have joined an expanded Fiji Secondary Schools Rugby League competition which kicked off last Saturday in the Western and South-Eastern Zones.

The 2020 tournament, which will see more than 20 schools take part in Under 13’s, 15’s, 17’s and 19’s is one of the largest schoolboy competitions run across the Pacific nations and is a joint initiative between the Fijian National Rugby League (FNRL) and Fijian Secondary Schools Rugby League (FSSRL).

In addition the boy’s competition, for the first time ever the Vodafone Trophy competition will also feature girls schools, with two schools set to take part in the four age groups later this year.

Middle East-Africa:  Championship returns to South Africa
The Middle East-Africa (MEA) Championship will return to South Africa for the first time since 2015 when the  Rhinos host the Lebanon, Nigeria and Morocco later this year.

In what will be only the third iteration of the tournament, the original participants, South Africa and Lebanon, join last year’s Finalists, to make up the bi-annual four nation tournament.

Lebanon won the inaugural MEA Championship, defeating the Rhinos 40 - 12 and 50 - 16 in a two match series played in Brakpan. 

Find out more about the tournament here.

Cook Islands: 40 years of competition
Cook Islands Rugby League hits a special milestone this Saturday when the local open-age Men’s competition, the Premier League, hits 40.

First started in 1980, the competition is one of the longest running League competition in the Pacific Islands and continues to highlight the strong Rugby League culture that exists in the Cook Islands.

The 2020 season kicks off with the Tupapa Maraerenga Panthers hosting the Titikaveka Bulldogs whilst the Arorangi Bears will play the Avatiu Eels.